Girl Scouts Become Bone Detectives

A Troop of Girl Scouts learn about forensic anthropology during our "Bone Detectives" activity

 

Our Museum Educator, Marcy Engleman, had a great experience with some girl scouts who are aspiring STEM experts. Here it is in her own words:

Last week I had the opportunity to do an outreach program at the meeting of a Girl Scout troop in southern New Jersey. They booked me to do my Bone Detectives lesson, which shows students about forensics and how to create a biological profile of a person using bones. The girls in the troop ranged from fourth to sixth grade, and were a bit rammy to start. But as soon as I started my lesson, they settled in to learn. They really loved telling me their personal stories, as young students loved to do, of finding animal bones in the woods, as well as helping me find out the age, sex and race of my ‘mystery’ skull. After the lesson was over, I had the chance to sit with the girls in a circle on the floor and have a chat about women in STEM fields: science, technology, engineering and math. It was a great opportunity to inspire the girls through word and action to aspire to great heights in their career path.

A Troop of Girl Scouts learn about forensic anthropology during our "Bone Detectives" activity

Leave a Reply

